Past Exhibition Details

Archibald Prize 2020

Sat 04 Sep -

Sat 06 Nov

All Galleries
Image: Winner Archibald Prize 2020, Vincent Namatjira, 'Stand strong for who you are', (detail) acrylic on linen, 152 x 198 cm. © the artist. Photo: AGNSW, Mim Stirling. Sitter: Adam Goodes - former professional Australian rules footballer

Awarded to the best portrait, ‘preferentially of some man or woman distinguished in art, letters, science or politics, painted by any artist resident in Australasia’, the Archibald Prize is a who’s who of Australian culture, from politicians to celebrities and from sporting heroes to artists. 

Prestigious and controversial, the Archibald Prize is Australia’s foremost portraiture prize. The Archibald Prize awards $100,000 prize money to the winning artist. 

In its 99th year, the Archibald Prize has been held since 1921. An open competition, the Archibald Prize is judged by the trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales. Entries to the Archibald Prize must be completed in the past year with at least one live sitting with the subject.